counterfeit-love-crystal-caudill
book review, New Author

Counterfeit Love

Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill: Book Review

About the book:

Title: Counterfeit Love

Author: Crystal Caudill

Release Date: March 15, 2022

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Can this undercover agent save the woman he loves–or is her heart as counterfeit as the money he’s been sent to track down?

After all that Grandfather has sacrificed to raise her, Theresa Plane owes it to him to save the family name–and that means clearing their debt with creditors before she marries Edward Greystone. But when one of the creditors’ threats leads her to stumble across a midnight meeting, she discovers that the money he owes isn’t all Grandfather was hiding. And the secrets he kept have now trapped Theresa in a life-threatening fight for her home–and the truth.

After months of undercover work, Secret Service operative Broderick Cosgrove is finally about to uncover the identity of the leader of a notorious counterfeiting ring. That moment of triumph turns to horror, however, when he finds undeniable proof that his former fiancée is connected. Can he really believe the woman he loved is a willing participant? Protecting Theresa and proving her innocence may destroy his career–but that’s better than failing her twice in one lifetime.

They must form a partnership, tentative though it is. But there’s no question they’re both still keeping secrets–and that lack of trust, along with the dangerous criminals out for their blood, threatens their hearts, their faith, and their very survival.

Combining rich history, danger, suspense, and romance, Crystal Caudill’s debut novel launches this new historical series with a bang. Fans of Elizabeth Camden, Michelle Griep, and Joanna Davidson Politano will be thrilled to find another author to follow!

Book Review:

I hope you’re ready for a gushy review, because that’s what you’re about to get. Counterfeit Love is Crystal Caudill’s debut novel, but you’d never know that from her amazing writing skills. This story of Broderick and Theresa is so well done that I completely lost myself in the immersive plot and was drawn in by the fully rounded characters. Theresa and Broderick are a second chance romance (my favorite) and their history is a tangled web of past hurts and current problems that seems insurmountable. I was especially drawn to Theresa’s character. She struggles to trust God, choosing to trust in her own strength and planning ability, and the need to overcome her own self was a journey that left me breathless. The plot and detailed setting of the book literally had me sitting on the edge of my seat as I read the last hundred pages. This is novel that you must read. If you enjoy Michelle Griep or Erica Vetsch, then you will fall in love with Crystal Caudill’s work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s