book review, revell reads

Standoff by Patricia Bradley: Book Review

Welcome to another book review brought to you by RevellReads: Standoff by Patricia Bradley

About the book:

Title: Standoff

Author: Patricia Bradley

Genre: Christian Suspense

Release Date: May 5, 2020

The Natchez Trace National Parkway stretches 444 miles from Nashville to Natchez, the oldest town on the Mississippi River. It’s the perfect road for a relaxed pleasure drive. Unfortunately for park ranger Luke Fereday, lately it’s being used to move drugs. Sent to Natchez to infiltrate the organization at the center of the drug ring, Luke arrives too late to a stakeout and discovers the body of his friend, park ranger John Danvers.

John’s daughter Brooke is determined to investigate her father’s murder, but things are more complicated than they first appear, and Brooke soon finds herself the target of a killer who will do anything to silence her. Luke will have his hands full keeping her safe. But who’s going to keep him safe when he realizes he’s falling–hard–for the daughter of the man he failed to save?

Award-winning author Patricia Bradley introduces you to a new series set in the sultry South that will have you wiping your brow and looking over your shoulder.

Book Review:

Brooke and Luke have a unique relationship that keeps the tension rolling through the story. There’s depth and emotion as they work through their personal issues while also trying to stay safe from imminent danger.

I would have to call this one a pulse-pounding adventure. Patricia Bradley gives you enough setting to keep you locked into the story, and she creates a spiritual element throughout. Her characters drive the plot and keep you on your toes.

I like that I often had no idea what would happen next. There are several different problems developing which brings Luke and Brooke together while also keeping them apart.

There are a lot of secondary characters who I lost track of as the novel progressed. A name would come up and I couldn’t remember what I already knew about them. I’m hoping some of these characters will be making an appearance in upcoming novels, because they were interesting, even if I did forget who they were. I blame my reading the book so fast that I lost details. It happens sometimes when the action is so good you don’t want to stop reading.

Fans of Lynette Eason, Lisa Harris, and Irene Hannon should definitely check out Patricia Bradley.

I requested a copy of this book from RevellReads. I was not required to leave a positive review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s