book review, netgalley

The Ravenwood Saga: Book Review

The Ravenwood Saga: Book Review: Mark of the Raven, Flight of the Raven, Cry of the Raven by Morgan Busse

Mark of the Raven: Book one

About the Book:

Lady Selene is the heir to the Great House of Ravenwood and the secret family gift of dreamwalking. As a dreamwalker, she can enter a person’s dreams and manipulate their greatest fears or desires. For the last hundred years, the Ravenwood women have used their gift of dreaming for hire to gather information or to assassinate.

As she discovers her family’s dark secret, Selene is torn between upholding her family’s legacy–a legacy that supports her people–or seeking the true reason behind her family’s gift.

Her dilemma comes to a head when she is tasked with assassinating the one man who can bring peace to the nations, but who will also bring about the downfall of her own house.

One path holds glory and power, and will solidify her position as Lady of Ravenwood. The other path holds shame and execution. Which will she choose? And is she willing to pay the price for the path chosen?

Book Review:

Mark of the Raven calls to the ultimate decision of doing what is right. Selene has always done as her mother ordered from the time she was young. Now Selene has been given the power of a dreamer and the burden of the people of Ravenwood. The gift of the dreamer becomes a burden when Selene learns what her mother will require of her.
Damien has the power to control water, lifting barriers to protect his people from those who would harm them. When his region is attacked, Damien calls for an assembly of the seven great houses, something that has not been done in hundreds of years.
Damien seems to be the only one who can see through Selene’s cold mask. She struggles to harden her heart against the demands her mother places on her. Damien wants to know the woman behind the mask. Something about Selene draws him in, refusing to let go.
This world of magic and great houses was well-described. The majority of the story takes place in Rook Castle, and we are given plenty of detail about the surroundings and the people. I would have liked more detail on the type of gift each great house possesses. Perhaps that comes in the next book.
Mark of the Raven reminds us that small compromises lead to bigger and more dangerous compromises. We each have a job and a purpose, but we cannot allow others to dictate how we use the gifts that God has given us. We must do what is right, regardless of the outcome. Even if it takes us away from friends, family, everything that we know. We must do what is right in the eyes of God.
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not required to leave a review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

Flight of the Raven: Book Two

About the Book:

Selene Ravenwood, once the heir to House Ravenwood, is now an exile. On the run and free of her family’s destiny, Selene hopes to find the real reason her family was given the gift of dreamwalking. But first she must adapt to her new life as wife to Lord Damien Maris, the man she was originally assigned to kill.

While adjusting to her marriage and her home in the north, her power over dreams begins to grow. As the strongest dreamwalker to exist in ages, her expanding power attracts not only nightmares but the attention of the Dark Lady herself.

With a war looming on the horizon and a wicked being after her gift, Selene is faced with a choice: embrace the Dark Lady’s offer, or search out the one who gave her the gift of dreamwalking. One path offers power, the other offers freedom. But time is running out, and soon her choice will be made for her.

Book Review:

Considered a traitor to her home and her people, Selene must confront her own inner self in the fight for the Ravenwood history. She alone can choose which path she will follow. The way of her ancestors is a cold and merciless way, while the way of the Light offers redemption and the type of peace Selene yearns to accept.

I love this world Morgan Busse has built and the characters she’s chosen to inhabit this land. Seven houses, with seven separate but equally powerful gifts, strive toward peace, but first, there will be war.

Selene and Damien have a new marriage to navigate, one born of necessity rather than love, and their emotions run the gamut from panic and despair to tentative acceptance. It’s interesting to see Selene grow through these experiences. Having never known the love of her mother, Selene is apprehensive, so I enjoyed seeing her develop into a stronger version of herself.

The dreamscapes are some of my favorite settings throughout Flight of the Raven. It’s here that Selene finds her greatest power and her fiercest enemy. The battle for light circled round this epic tale in glorious detail.

I requested a copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not required to leave a positive review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

Cry of the Raven: Book Three

About the Book:

Lady Selene Ravenwood has come into her full power as a dreamwalker just as the war with the Dominia Empire begins. Working with the other Great Houses, Selene and Damien use their gifts to secure the borders and save those devastated by the war. But conflict, betrayal, and hatred begin to spread between the Great Houses, destroying their unity as the empire burns a path across their lands. At the same time, Damien Maris starts to lose his ability to raise the waters, leaving the lands vulnerable to the empire’s attacks.

The only one who can unite the houses and restore her husband’s power is Selene Ravenwood. But it will require that she open her heart to those who have hurt her and let go of her past, despite the one who hunts her and will do anything to stop her power.

Will Selene survive? Or is she destined to fall like the dreamwalkers before her?

Book Review:

In this final book, Selene and Damien will face their greatest threat.

Morgan Busse does an exceptional job of showing that sometimes our greatest enemy is ourselves, and the biggest battle we’ll ever face is the one inside our own minds.

Bringing all the story threads together, Cry of the Raven is a pulse-pounding fantasy that takes you to the edge of tension and deep into the hearts of characters you’ve come to love.

The conclusion to the sage is poignantly sweet while still managing to wage war against the forces of evil. We cannot understand why things happen the way they do, but we can trust that there is a reason behind the apparent madness.

This is a world you won’t want to leave, with settings so pronounced you’ll feel the spray of water against your skin as you travel with Damien and Selene to the final battle in this epic saga.

I requested a copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not required to leave a positive review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s