The Yellow Lantern by Angie Dicken
book review, giveaway

Why do I love true crime books like The Yellow Lantern?

The Yellow Lantern by Angie Dicken: Book Review with Celebrate Lit.

About the Book

Book: The Yellow Lantern

Author: Angie Dicken

Genre: Christian Historical/Suspense

Release Date: August 1, 2019

The Yellow Lattern Cover

Josephine Is Forced to Spy for Grave Robbers
Step into True Colors—a new series of Historical Stories of Romance and American Crime

In Massachusetts in 1824, Josephine Clayton awakes on the table of the doctor she’s assisted all these months. She was presumed dead by all and has become the doctor’s next corpse for his medical research. Frightened, the doctor tries to kill her, but Josephine begs to be spared. A deal is struck—Josie will leave her village and work at a distant cotton mill. All the while, she’ll await her true mission—posing as a mourner to help his body snatcher procure her replacement. At the mill though, Josie is praised for her medical remedies among the mill girls, gaining attention from the handsome factory manager Braham Taylor. Yet, when Braham’s own loved one becomes the prey for the next grave robbing, Josie must make a choice that could put her dark past behind her or steal away the promise of any future at all.

What price will Josie pay for love when her secrets begin to unravel?

Click here to grab your copy.

Book Review:

I’m quite stuck on how to begin the review. A rare at-a-loss-for-words moment.

Did I immediately fall absolutely, totally, in love with The Yellow Lantern? No.

Did I hate it? Definitely not!

So, what’s the trouble?

My expectations. That’s the trouble. And I hate when I go into a book expecting certain things to happen. It’s not the book’s fault. It’s my fault as a reader. So, what happened? Well, truth be told, I was expecting more body snatching and less Josie wringing her hands obsessing over body snatching. I got over that in a hurry as the other plots began weaving their way though the book.

The opening chapters yanked me into the story, setting up a fantastic plot line and some wonderful characters. Josie is unusual. She has a deep strength and profound sense of right and wrong that the good doctor found a way to exploit. No matter what choice she makes, she cannot satisfy her sense of justice and obtain peace.

I thoroughly enjoyed Josie’s time at the mill and her adventures in helping the other women at the boarding house. That plot line seemed to overtake the body snatching plot line, which I was not expecting. But it was good, and it keeps The Yellow Lantern from becoming overly morbid and gruesome. Making the switch allowed the readers to see Josie and Braham in greater depth while bringing additional elements into the story.

I love a good historical, especially when the detail and history is as rich and in-depth as The Yellow Lantern. You don’t doubt the amount of time spent on research when you read this story. With the added true crime elements and flawed but redeemable characters, The Yellow Lantern is certain to hold your interest.

Why do I love True Crime novels? Because history is amazing, and a great novel teaches without the reader becoming bored, something The Yellow Lantern was able to do with ease.

I requested a copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. I was not required to leave a positive review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author

AngieDicken

Angie Dicken credits her love of story to reading British literature during life as a military kid in England. Now living in the U.S. heartland, she’s a member of ACFW, sharing about author life with her fellow Alley Cats on The Writer’s Alley blog and Facebook page. Besides writing, she is a busy mom of four and works in Adult Ministry. Angie enjoys eclectic new restaurants, authentic conversation with friends, and date nights with her Texas Aggie husband. Connect with her online at www.angiedicken.com.

More from Angie

Barbour’s True Colors Crime concept intrigued me from the very beginning. Being the daughter of a doctor and discovering the ties of grave robbing to the early medical profession, I was excited to dive deep into 19th century Massachusetts. Grave robbing around Boston and New York was often employed by doctors desperate for medical advancement. Men and women were both involved in the procuring of bodies for doctors. Finding these accounts led me to take took a look at the current medical remedies of the time—tinctures, elixirs, and herbal concoctions. My heroine was created in the tension of a desire to heal and the desperation of medical pursuits.

Amidst these medical ties to the historical moment of 1824, something was also shifting among women in rural areas of New England. Many women were employed by newly built cotton mills (Lowell Mill was my inspiration for the fictional Gloughton Mill in The Yellow Lantern). These working opportunities for women offered an escape from their home-bound lives and the rare chance for independence. Of course, with such industrial environments, injuries, and sometimes death, would occur. Noting the accounts of these kind of fatalities in historical articles, my research came full circle.

I found three strong threads to weave into my grave-robbing story—desperate doctors in need of research, a doctor’s assistant needing an escape from her village, and a mill, not only offering that escape, but the chance at bodies for the desperate medical community.

My heroine, Josie Clay, found life in the tangle of these threads of mills, medicine, and grave robbing—all playing out within the pages of The Yellow Lantern.

4 thoughts on “Why do I love true crime books like The Yellow Lantern?”

  1. This book sounds intriguing and like a very good read, I love the book cover. I enjoyed reading this blog about the book and the author. Thank you so very much. Have a Great week. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s