New Author, Uncategorized

The Journey Begins

Thanks for joining me!

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

Welcome to my blog! As this is my first blog post, I hope I don’t scare too many of you away with the sheer terminal bluntness that I occasionally suffer from. It seems odd to me that I’m here today writing my first blog post when I’m struggling so much to work on any of my books at the moment. When I first sat down, I was ready to work! I had ideas coming out of my ears and then suddenly, the drive to create simply vanished. Am I the only one to suffer from such a malady? Am I the only one who goes through bouts of severe anxiety at the thought that although I love my book and I feel that writing it was God’s will, I feel like an utter failure? My heart knows that I did what I was supposed to do, but that nasty old devil likes to sit in my mind and tell me that people are going to hate it. It’s time to give him a nice kick in the hiney and send him on his way. I know everyone won’t instantly fall in love with my book. I know some people might hate it, hey, you can’t please everyone and that is not my intention. My intention is to do God’s will, no matter what that might be. My next blog post will be all about my first book Trial by Courage which is available for purchase on Amazon and books2read in both digital and paperback format. I almost didn’t even write this post. Who really wants to admit to their weakness? Especially when they know they’re going to post it for the whole world to read. OK, maybe two people will read this, but if it helps even one of those two people then I will have done my job. No one has a good day every day. It’s OK to have a bad day, it’s not OK to unpack and live there. Just admitting to my weakness has made me feel better, that alone tells me that it is something that needed to be said. Not every word spoken has to be joyous and uplifting. Sometimes you need a moment of ‘Why Me?’. But then you pick yourself up and you move on because God knows. He knows the answer to your why me and he has a purpose for it. He has a purpose for YOU and for everything that He puts you through. Trust Him, trust that He won’t put you through anything unnecessarily. I’ve only been an author for five months and my biggest problem is my patience. I’ll be honest, I hit that publish button and then I sat back and expected to be famous within the week. Logically I knew that was impossible, but my heart could not be told otherwise. I’m happy with how things are going with my books and my writing, but my patience still struggles. I wish I could stand on the corner handing out copies, but I can’t afford to do that either. Life is hard, with God or without God, life is not perfect. But life with God is worth the extra pain. The home waiting for us in Heaven proves that; at least to me. I don’t know how I went from my weaknesses to God’s glory, I guess that’s just what He wanted from me today. He takes my weakness and turns it into a strength.

Trial by Courage

1 thought on “The Journey Begins”

  1. I appreciate the honesty you brought to this post. It’s true, we don’t always feel like being terribly uplifting–sometimes, we are the ones who need to be uplifted, and that’s ok. There is a passage of Scripture I often turn to when I’m feeling particularly beaten down by life’s “trials” (see what I did there?!)… It says, “For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, ‘My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.’ Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:8-10)
    Keep on keepin’ on, and keep that honesty coming!

    Like

Leave a comment